Reviews

4.34.3 out of 5 stars (based on 10 reviews)
Excellent60%
Very good20%
Average10%
Poor10%
Terrible0%

 

A lot to like

November 2, 2018

I was shopping around for a medium size CNC kit and I was instantly drawn to the design of the Routakit. After some research I ended up purchasing a SD with the SDX upgrade and 1.5kw spindle at 1000mmx1000mm in size. Assembly was straight forward but I did have a few questions in some spots that I was able to get answered from the support team through Facebook. The software is pretty good and easy enough to setup and the performance of the machine itself has been great for cutting wood. I haven’t tried cutting aluminum but I imagine that is totally doable on my machine. The cutting accuracy is pretty good with parts usually cut within .01″ of spec or better once you calibrate everything from my experience, though be sure to use loctite on the motor pulleys, if you don’t they will eventually get loose and you can imagine what will happen. Overall I’m happy with my purchase. Thumbs up!

David Atkinson

Good for the price

October 7, 2018

As the title states it’s good for the price. I have experience running commercial CNCs and I wanted a hobby CNC for my home to help me make furniture and possibly turn my hobby into a little side business. I bought a 1500 x 1000mm Routakit HD kit and I like that it’s an all aluminum construction. It took me a week to build the machine at a nice steady pace working a few hours a day, but looking back on it I probably could have built it in 2 days. I’m familiar with Mach3 so running this machine was a piece of cake and the Gecko controller is very reliable as many people have attested to. Now considering this is a cheap CNC kit I wasn’t expecting precision or performance on a level of a $100,000 CNC or anything but I’m satisfied with the performance I’m getting out of it. For the average garage warrior or small businesses looking for a good CNC in the $4k to $5k range the Routakit HD fits the bill. If there is one thing I would change about the machine is that it would use ball screws on all three axes instead of just the z-axis, but the belts on the xy are holding up and look to be very high quality so I don’t anticipate they will be giving me problems in the long run.

Greg

5 Stars

July 10, 2018

This is a wonderful kit, you guys should be very proud of your cnc router system. It has gone together well and is very well thought out! Thank you for helping me through the build process!

Alex

Carving Beast of a Machine!

April 28, 2018

I have nothing but good things to say about my Routakit machine. I got the HD model with the best spindle option. I’m carving and cutting birch and oak like butter. I tried cutting carbon fiber for RC parts for a friend and it has no problems with that either. This was my first CNC so I expected a learning curve and it took me a little while longer than I expected to get everything setup and running but overall not too bad once you get the hang of it especially with the help of support. Mentioning support I have to say they were very helpful, but if I could find a negative point is that they weren’t always quick to answer every question and sometimes took around 1 to 2 days to respond, but then again other times they responded in an hour so I guess it depends on the day. It’s not enough of a negative to knock down a whole star but just something I thought I’d share. I will be recommending Routakit to my buddies that want a CNC.

steven

Average

February 20, 2018

I bought a small SD with 600w spindle. I wanted to cut wood and acrylic and maybe some aluminum with it. After putting everything together and following all the steps from Routakit the machine still struggles with anything harder than MDF or plywood and I end up with broken cutting bits or jagged cuts. Maybe I was expecting too much from this machine but I was really hoping to be able to cut hard woods and aluminum without trouble. After learning more about CNC machines I think I should have went with the 1.5kw spindle, it probably would have solved my problems and I would be happier but with my current setup with the 600w spindle the machine is average at best. At least the build quality is good.

Christopher T.

This thing is awesome

January 18, 2018

I’ve never owned a cnc router before this but I have a lot of experience with wood working and using tools like a hand held router, jigsaw, skill saw, drill press, and many others. As much as I love working with my hands there is something really satisfying about watching my designs get cut out of wood on a cnc router. I went with the Routakit HD that is big enough for 4×4 size sheets of wood. Getting this thing built is actually easy, but it is time consuming so grab a friend and promise them a pizza and a beer. I look forward to getting many years of use out of this.

J.G.

Nice machine

December 12, 2017

SD Owner
1×1.5m size
1.5kw spindle
SDX Upgrade

Pros:
1. Rigid Aluminum Frame
2. Ball screw on the zaxis!!!
3. Easy to build
4. Cuts accurately

Cons
1. Not suitable for cutting steel 🙁
2. Does not reliably move as fast as stated on website without affecting repeatability (I recommend not let the machine exceed 250 ipm if you want to maintain high repeatability results)
3. Included software is ok and does its job fine, but I would have preferred Mach 3.

General thoughts?
I like the machine, it serves me well and even with some shortcommings I cant complain too much in this price range. It is good.

Masahiko

I like my CNC but...

November 16, 2017

So first of all the machine is pretty good, it’s designed well and performs how I expected. However….from the start I experienced a glitch that took me awhile to get ironed out. Since then I’ve have had no issues with it. The reason why I am giving this 2 stars is because my machine arrived late and with damaged extrusions. I emailed Routakit as quickly as I could and I didn’t hear back form them until the following day which was aggravating. Of course they apologized and they did send out replacements asap, but when you pay $2000 or more for a product you expect that company to be on top of their game and to be readily available to solve any problems in that very moment, they need to have a live chat service or offer support over Facebook messenger. Like I said the machine is good they just needed more customer service and I would have been a happy camper…

anonymous

helped me for my small business

September 29, 2017

I make engravings and do a lot of 2.5D work for ornate plaques with my Routakit. I also make furniture pieces with it like cabinet doors and shelves, I even use it to modify store bought furniture to make them unique. I can’t imagine doing this without a CNC machine and I really do enjoy using it almost everyday. Louis from Routakit was a joy to work with and answered every question I had, he made it a point to make sure I was taken care of and I truly appreciate that.

Robert

Love it

March 22, 2017

I was one of the early adopters right when they started selling kits after their Kickstarter project. I upgraded from a cheap desktop machine I found on eBay to the Routakit HD. The difference was night and day in cutting speed, reliability and machine stiffness. The Routakit HD grants me the ability to do real work at my shop and I’m loving it. At the time of my build the instructions were greatly lacking in some areas but their support was able to answer my questions. They were a brand spanking new company then so I cut them some slack, especially since I was following them even before they were in business so I knew what to expect. Checking back now I see that they’ve improved and expanded their instructions so it should be fine now. For what you’re getting the Routakit HD is an exceptional value.

anthony